HFH-MC Board Member Shares Her 2012 Resolution

This time of year conversations often turn to our New Year’s resolutions. With this in mind, we asked Board Member Margaret Cromelin to share her resolution for 2012. Margaret has served on the Board of Directors for Habitat for Humanity of Montgomery County, MD since 2010 and shares her marketing expertise with ReStore. She is Vice President of Marketing for the Mid-Atlantic region for the commercial real estate firm Jones Lang LaSalle.

My Resolution for 2012
by Margaret Cromelin, Habitat for Humanity-MC Board Member

Re-gift to charity! That’s my New Year’s resolution for 2012. There are lots of things I need to do more of (exercise) and less of (eat), but one of my less predictable resolutions this year is to do strategic, charity-minded purging of things I just don’t use or want. Take the two artificial-greens Christmas wreathes hanging in our small storage room in the basement. I’m going to donate them to Habitat for Humanity of Montgomery County ReStore when I go out there for a board meeting this month. It used to be you could only make donations for the ReStore Holiday Shoppe in the months leading up to Christmas; but now ReStore has storage space and can take holiday donations year-round.

I’m also going to donate a brand new triangle-shaped desk from Wisteria that’s in my garage. It arrived with a noticeable nick on the writing surface, so they sent me a new one and told me not to bother to send back the damaged one. Even with the nick, it’s a good-looking little desk and I know it will sell at ReStore. Then there are the clothes that don’t fit or have way too pronounced shoulder pads… I can’t donate them to ReStore, but I’ll find another worthy organization that will be happy to have them.

What about you? Tell us about your 2012 new year’s resolution. You can share your resolution in the comment portion immediately following this post. But if your resolution is to complete a home project or live greener, consider entering our ReSolve and ReStore contest below! 

Leave a Reply

